About Us


Library Administration:

The Allahabad Government Public Library, Allahabad is working under the administrative control of the department of Higher Education, Government of Uttar Pradesh. Honorable Governor of Uttar Pradesh has constituted a library management committee.

Library Timing & Holidays:

Library Hours: 8.00 A.M. – 6.00 P.M.

Weekly Holiday: Thursday.

Other Holiday: Second Saturday of the month and gazzetted/local holidays declared by U.P. Government.


Detail of present management committee:

S. No.Particulars of MembersDesignation
1.Commissioner, Allahabad Division, AllahabadChairman
2.Vice Chancellor, Allahabad University, AllahabadMember
3.District Magistrate, AllahabadMember
4.Director, Higher Education, Uttar PradeshMember
5.Nagar Ayukt, Nagar Nigam, AllahabadMember
6.Prof. Vinay Chand Panday Rtd. Head of Department (Ancient History Department), Allahabad University, AllahabadMember
7.Sh. Sandeep Kumar Sharma Rtd. Indian Administrative ServiceMember
8.Sh. Kamal Krishna Rai, Advocate High CourtMember
9.Sh. Gopal Krishna Srivastava Rtd. Provencial Administrative ServiceMember
10.Sh. Gopal Mohan Shukla Librarian, Government Public Library, AllahabadMember/Secretary

Details of Library Staff:

S. NoName of EmployeeDesignation
1.Sh. Gopal Mohan ShuklaLibrarian
2.Vacant…Dy. Librarian
3.Sh. RamvrikashAssistant Librarian
4.Vacant…Assistant Librarian
5.Sh. Pati RamCataloguer
6.Sh. Ved PrakeshCataloguer
8.Sh. Gyanesh Chandra TiwariOffice Superintendent
9.Smt. Pravina SinhaSnr. Assistant
10.Vacant…Snr. Assistant
11.Vacant…Low. Assistant
12.Sh. ChirongilalLending Assistant
13.Smt. Vibha BiswasLending Assistant
14.Sh. Ramesh KumarReprographic Assistant